A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

i am a rock star January 1, 2011

Filed under: adult fun — courtsbrogno @ 6:57 pm

Last night (and since it was past midnight, half of the night counts for today’s post), I went out for New Year’s for the first time in as long as I can remember. Luke was with his dad; Maddie was at her best friend’s for a sleepover party.

I was so anxious before I left the house. When I worked in the restaurant industry, we often called Valentine’s day and New Year’s Eve amateur night. And that’s exactly how I felt: like an amateur.

Sure I go out and get a drink every once in a while, but I never go out, get dressed up, and stay out past midnight.

As I was getting ready to leave, I honestly had butterflies in my stomach.

So it was good that I spent the first few hours at my friend Melanie’s house drinking some wine and just talking. When we finally made it downtown to the party, I was feeling much more confident.

We had bought tickets to what we had heard was the best party in town–a restaurant on the creek that converts itself into a night club just for New Year’s eve. There were 2 DJs, at least 3 bars, and swarms of people. The best part was the majority of people attending were over 25, and most were in their 30s (or so it seemed), which is such a rarity in my little college town (where the average age seems to be 21).

Can I just say that I had a blast! I really, really, really has so much fun dancing, drinking, talking to friends, meeting new people, and overall ringing in the new year with some of the best people I know. I’m beyond thankful for the amazing night I had and the amazing people I was fortunate enough to spend my evening with.

And when it ended at 1:30 in the morning, I was feeling so good that I walked over to a friend’s house where we all drank some more wine and talked until 4 in the morning.

Yeah, I was up until 4AM!!! This quite possibly is a new record for me (at least since my 20s). And I’m proud to say that I made excellent decisions all night long, I didn’t get super drunk (though I will admit I was a little drunk), and overall handled myself very well.

Dude. My mom would have been proud. Hey, even Jesus would have been proud (especially because I drank wine all night. Oh, and champagne. Well, Jesus may not have been too proud of me peeing outside in the back of the restaurant, but then again, Jesus would not have liked me peeing all over my new dress while I waited in a line that was at least 15 feet long. No, I think he’d be okay with peeing outside. But my mom? No way. She’d have a heart attack. ).

I didn’t have a hang over and to be honest, I feel like a freaking rock star.

Which leads me to my only new year’s resolution: No more banging myself up about my past. At all. I’m done. Hallelujah.

It’s a new decade. A new decade!

I can’t wait to see what’s in store.

 

2 Responses to “i am a rock star”

  1. christine Says:

    im happy you got your awesome night out :] you DESERVED IT!!!
    -hug-

  2. Liza Says:

    Congrats on finishing a year of thanksgiving–Really exciting! Blessings for a fresh start.

    Love,
    Liza


Leave a Reply

