A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

all hail the i-5 closure January 3, 2011

Filed under: friends — courtsbrogno @ 9:16 pm

Interstate 5 is still closed today, which makes me incredibly thankful. While I know that there are many traveling people who would disagree with me and are very unthankful for the inconvenience, this closure brought me a surprise visit of my friend Michelle and her family yesterday, and today my best friend Sofia called and had to stop by as well because the 5 was closed.

What good luck I have! Two friends whom I would not have seen at all have been forced to stop by and take a break from driving! Plus, it’s always so nice to have unexpected visits like this.

So Sofia and her daughter Isabella got here around 2:30 and stayed until 8:30. I had such a good time lounging around with them and talking. Then we went to coffee and dinner together. As a bonus our friend Jennifer joined us.

(Maddie having a blast with her friend Isabella)

 

(Jennifer and Sofia)

I’m sure the I-5 will be back to normal tomorrow and travelers will be back on the road again soon, but for this unexpected closure, I’m again so thankful.

I’m also super thankful for my good friend Steve who came over today to help me with some chores around the house: cutting up my Christmas tree (Honestly, I could have done this myself, but Steve wouldn’t lend me his chain saw because he seems convinced I’d take off a few of my fingers) and putting up a gate.

 

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it a million more times: I’m really grateful to have Steve as a friend. We’ve known each other for over a decade and he is always willing to come over and help me.

I feel–once again–so fortunate to have such wonderful friends.

 

One Response to “all hail the i-5 closure”

  1. katy Says:

    uh yah! thank God steve didn’t let you use the chain saw. I love you court, but somethings aren’t meant to be learned- i.e. wielding a chain saw. Leave it to the men!


Leave a Reply

