A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

thank you cards January 11, 2011

Filed under: family fun — courtsbrogno @ 6:11 pm

I love sending thank you cards and I love receiving them as well, but for the past several years, I’ve given up on sending thank you cards out for Christmas presents. I have a million reasons for not doing so: the holidays are busy, people don’t usually expect thank you cards anyway for Christmas, prepping for a new quarter/semester takes up most of my free time, and really, I want to spend my vacation time with the kids, decompressing and relaxing.

These are all pretty shitty excuses.

So tonight, Maddie and I sat down to write out thank you cards to everyone who gave us a Christmas present. Since Luke can’t write, I interpreted his look of annoyance at me being occupied with something other than him as a sign of thankfulness for his gifts and wrote that “Luke thanks you for his gift as well.”

I’m really thankful that I took the time to write out these simple thank you cards. I feel better–less guilty than I usually do after Christmas when I realize that too much time has passed to send out thank you cards and that I am an ungrateful loser who is raising her kids to be ungrateful losers as well. This guilt only lasts for a short while, though, because by the time I realize how late it has gotten, it’s birthday time and I have to stress about sending out birthday thank you cards.

Still, less guilt makes me a very happy person. As an added bonus, Maddie and I had fun sitting together while writing the cards. We caught up on her school life (OMG! Marissa is dating Sean in her class!!! What the heck do 6th graders who are dating do?  Actually, I don’t even want to know, but Maddie certainly enjoyed sharing this tidbit of gossip with me) and laughed at Luke-isms (like “no boogs” which means “stop taking the boogers out of my nose, Mom.”).

Taking the time to write a thank you card is a small price to pay for the love and generosity family and friends shared with me this year. I’m glad I changed my ways and made the time to say “thanks.”

 

2 Responses to “thank you cards”

  1. Jen Says:

    Wait til you get braden’s thank you card. He almost started crying when he wrote, “thank you for gift the”. I didn’t make him re-do it. It’s kinda sweet.

  2. GEW Says:

    Can I take a moment to thank you for my gift bag?! It was so fantastic and thoughtful and yummy! I haven’t read the book yet because I decided to just bring the Kindle on the trip (to keep bags light), but I love that you gave me a book, and I’m eager to read it!

    And I think Bill especially loved the peanut butter cups.


Leave a Reply

