A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

a learning community January 13, 2011

Filed under: work — courtsbrogno @ 11:28 pm

A few months ago, a few colleagues and I decided to apply for a grant through the university. We wanted to assess critical thinking on our campus and make it interdisciplinary with other departments within the College of Liberal Arts. We rounded up 2 speech communications professors, 1 philosophy professor, and even a librarian and applied.

We got the grant.

Tonight was our first official meeting and we went over out objectives and deliverables. I’m nervous because I’ve just committed myself to a pretty big project that will be time-consuming, but I’m also excited because our little project will (hopefully) do something great for our university and  especially the college of Liberal Arts and will also add some professional scholarship to my CV.

But more importantly, I’m thankful to be part of a learning community. I already feel challenged and enlightened. My little brain is overstimulated with the conversation we had tonight and all we discussed was why we wanted to be part of this group and what we think the status of critical thinking is in students today.

Comments like these were said:

“Inquiry=>advocacy=>public discourse”

“Greater contiguity between departments”

“Dissemination of information”

“Remediate the brain”

“To live the life of the mind”

To many people, these tidbits of our conversation are not interesting at all, but to me, this is like 100% grass-fed, organic brain powered food. I love it. I love having intellectually stimulating conversations about what I do in the classroom and learning what others are doing as well. I love researching current pedagogies while admitting my own weaknesses in a safe and encouraging environment.

I love that at the end of this 20 week journey, I will come out of this process more intelligent and inspired.

 

One Response to “a learning community”

  1. GEW Says:

    I’d like to talk to you about this!


Leave a Reply

