A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

a busy but successful day January 18, 2011

Filed under: work — courtsbrogno @ 5:52 pm

The new semester at the community college began today, and having to be on campus by 9:30 was a true test of my ability to get ready quickly.

After spending almost a month just relaxing in the mornings with Luke, it was quite a feat to get out the door by 8:45. It was also quite the feat to be prepared to teach an entirely new class as well.

However, I stayed up late last night and prepped like a mad woman. Of course, as usual, I waited until the very last moment to get everything done, but I did it.

And surprisingly, everything went well. Luke and I were out the door on time, I was on campus with 15 minutes to spare, my students looked engaged, and everything went as planned. I even got some grading done once I finished teaching.

I know that my Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays are going to be busy days, but I’m thankful that I had a smooth start today. Having a first day go well will, I hope, set the tone for the rest of the semester, so with a little luck and some hard work, I’m looking forward to a good (though busy) new semester.

 

Leave a Reply

