A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

It gets a little repetative January 20, 2011

Filed under: self-discovery — courtsbrogno @ 9:52 pm

For the most part, my life is pretty mundane. I work, sleep, parent, eat, clean. There’s very little difference in my day-to-day activities. While some people may view my life as boring, and in many cases it most certainly is, I do enjoy the repetitive and domestic activities in my life.

So when I thought of what I was most thankful for today, the first thing that came to my mind was that I cleaned my house in a mad rush between working and an evening meeting. At first, I thought: “I can’t be thankful for a clean house today. I mean, how boring.

But the thing is, I am thankful.  My house was a mess, and when I got home at 3:30, I started pulling off bed sheets and even the couch cover. I vacuumed. I dusted. I swept. I mopped.

I know my life is repetitive, and I know that being thankful for cleaning when I really didn’t want to has been mentioned on this blog several times before, but as I lay down in bed with the cool comfort of crisp and clean sheets surrounding me, I feel peaceful and fulfilled.

Imagine if I had a maid service to clean my house! Then what would I be thankful for?

 

One Response to “It gets a little repetative”

  1. Denise Says:

    I love a clean house….it makes me happy in my heart, that is what I tell my kids when they are complaining about having to clean. It seriously puts me at ease. I am glad you got to clean your house today.


Leave a Reply

