A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

simple schedule January 24, 2011

Filed under: work — courtsbrogno @ 10:14 pm

My teaching load is in full effect as of this week: both the university and the community college are in session (last week school started at the community college, but Monday was a holiday, so technically it was not a full week). Somehow the scheduling gods smiled at me this quarter/semester and gave me a GREAT teaching schedule, which includes only working 2 hours on Monday and 4 hours on Friday.

In Fall, I taught 6 composition classes; now, I’m teaching my usual 5 classes, but the 2 classes I teach at the community college are back to back 9 week classes, so I’m really only teaching 4 classes at a time.

Add in the fact that I resigned as editor from the local women’s newspaper in the winter, and my life is awash with free time.

Well, let’s be honest, not that much free time, but in comparison to the fall, it’s like a whole new world has opened up for me. I have time for the kids where I’m not just racing to accomplish chores in between hugs and kisses; I have time to grade and not feel rushed; I have time to embroider; I have time to watch a movie in the evening if I so choose.

I thought starting a full week today would bring back the gut twisting feeling that I usually have when both schools start, but instead I felt fine, on top of things, capable, and basically life seems much more manageable and enjoyable.

I’m thankful for this great new schedule.

 

Leave a Reply

