A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

a change of plans. January 29, 2011

Filed under: family fun — courtsbrogno @ 8:42 pm

We were excited all day. We had plans. ‘The band Ozomatli, a Latin inspired funk band, was playing a kids show at a local venue. A friend had told me about it a few days ago, and I couldn’t wait to see Maddie and  Luke (and me) rock out; plus, 3-5 are hard times to fill as a parent. I mean, we can only go to the park, hike, or play with friends for so long.

My parents, who were coming today for a visit, also decided to come. They were also very excited. My mom even said, “I’m going to wear my hoop earrings.”

All of this excitement fizzled in an instant, however, when I called to find out how much the tickets were and the man told me $16.

$16. Per ticket.  Adults and child price. Even for babies.

Are you freaking kidding me? Who in their right mind is going to pay $16 per kid/adult? Who has that kind of money. For me, my parents, and the kids it would have cost $80.

Plans canceled. We all sat around a little depressed, but then my dad suggested walking downtown for frozen yogurt, and so we did just that.

Our mood changed. We walked, ate yogurt, came home and hung around, made dinner, and all ate together. We finished the night by watching Despicable Me.

Even though our plans changed and our afternoon was not full of music and kids dancing, we still had a really good day. A fun day.

Best yet, other than the price of the frozen yogurt and movie rental, a practically free day. I’m thankful for the fun we had the money we saved.

 

One Response to “a change of plans.”

  1. GEW Says:

    Comment from Bill: “Ozomatli needs to lay off the hootch.”


Leave a Reply

