A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

a big surprise January 31, 2011

Filed under: kindness toward me — courtsbrogno @ 10:43 pm

My doorbell rang around 4p.m. today, and when I answered it, there was no one there. But a package. I assume delivered by the post office.

It was addressed to me and the return address had my name and address as well.

“A bomb,” I thought. Damn.

I brought the package inside and spent a good 5 minutes just staring at it, not sure whether I should open it (did it contain poison???)

I finally opened the package and read this note:

Some months ago I finished reading Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff…and it’s all small stuff by Richard Carlson. One chapter is titled, “Do something Nice for Something Else–and Don’t Tell Anyone About It.” It inspired me to devise a random act of kindness and carry it out for someone (you); hence, the reason for this package. I hope these reading and viewing materials bring as much joy to you as they did me. May 2011 be filled with many more welcome surprises for you and your family.~~A kindred spirit.

Enclosed in this package were books, a short story (photocopied), an article, and a DVD with a type written note that explained why these materials changed the senders life/perspective. The material was as follows:

The DVD Bright Star

The books, Housekeeping, Life and Death in Shanghai, May All be Fed, Siddhartha, The Secret History.

The short story, Salvatore

The article, “The Disparity between Intellect and Character”

Each one seems so different from the rest and covers a vast array of life and literature, and yet the picks seem just so me. Like the person really knows me. I’m so excited about my new reading and viewing material.

Best yet, I have absolutely NO IDEA who this could be from and of course, I have yet to die from any malicious poisoning or bombing (though after I opened it, my right hand ached, but I’m pretty sure that was psychosomatic.

I’m really thankful for this gift. I’m excited to start reading, but more importantly, it’s just such a nice gesture and it has rekindled that trust in humanity that I often forget (I mean, really, what does it say about me [and society] that I would be so nervous opening a package?)

I love random acts of kindness and unknown gift givers.

 

2 Responses to “a big surprise”

  1. GEW Says:

    To me, it’s not at all surprising since you, yourself, are such a generous person who often thinks of other people and then gives them things.

    Very cool!

  2. Denise Says:

    Wow that is so amazing….I love when my faith in humanity is restored. There are really good people out there and it doesn’t surprise me at all that you surround yourself with them….Love you.


Leave a Reply

