A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

new preschool February 1, 2011

Filed under: kids — courtsbrogno @ 6:03 pm

As I’ve stated before, the transition to preschool for Luke has been rough. It’s also been rough for me knowing that he was always so upset. To make matters worse, I haven’t fallen in love with his school. I do love his teacher and the owner of the school, but the other teachers have seemed preoccupied with their phones and with gossiping, often–seemingly–ignoring the kids they’re being paid to watch. Because I’ve been so busy with work, I haven’t had the time to scout out a new school, but I did find comfort in the fact that his teacher was involved with the kids and seemed to genuinely love Luke.

Unfortunately, I found out about a month ago that Luke was going to be moved into another classroom with more kids his age starting in February. I was so upset. I wasn’t fond of the other teachers and how I’d seen them behave with other kids. But I also didn’t have much of a choice at this point.

Then a few weeks ago, my friend Colleen came to dinner and we were discussing our kids’ preschools. She raved and raved about how much she adores her daughter’s school, run by one of her friends. I lamented Luke’s school and felt so saddened that I would never rave to someone about the school that Luke attended. While we spoke, Colleen took out her phone and started texting. In a minute, she announced, “Done. My friend has an open spot for Luke. If you want it.”

Did I want it? Hell yes!

How lucky am I that my dear friend took it upon herself to make a connection from me? I’m incredibly thankful. And when Luke and I went to visit the preschool, I was really happy. The whole energy of the place was different. It’s an at-home school, but the kids seemed happy, the teachers were engaged with the kids, and the place was super clean and safe. It’s a bit more expensive than the school he was attending, but the cost difference seemed worth the change. I signed Luke up to begin in February.

Today was Luke’s first day at his new school, and while he cried when I dropped him off, I felt so much better while at work, at ease, really, knowing that Luke was well taken care of. The teacher even texted me halfway through the day to let me know that Luke was having a great day. I was so appreciative of that gesture.

When I picked Luke up he seemed to be genuinely happy and engaged with the other kids. I feel like a whole weight has been taken off my shoulders now that I know Luke is at a better place, and for that, I’m thankful. I’m also thankful that there was room for Luke and that my friend Colleen helped make all of this possible.

It’s like all the chips just feel into place perfectly for all this to happen. I feel like this is such a rarity in life, but lately, it’s been happening more often and I feel lucky.

I’m loving the universe’s good vibes right now (Really? Did I just write that? I sound like I came out of the 60s? Oh well; it’s how I feel!)

 

4 Responses to “new preschool”

  1. I love when people recognize their blessings. It keeps the momemtum up. 🙂
    When my children were in preschool is forever etched in my mind. It’s not like trying on a pair of shoes. It is an energy zappin nightmare until you find the right one. I am so happy for you that you can now breathe and sleep peacefully at night. What a wonderful friend you have.

  2. christine Says:

    yey!!!! :]
    -hug-

  3. Denise Says:

    Yeah!!!! Peace of mind is priceless. I am so happy for you. (and Luke )

  4. Jen Says:

    Yay! No more gloomy pre school! Happy school now!


Leave a Reply

