A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

blessed be the single ones (sometimes) February 4, 2011

Filed under: self-discovery — courtsbrogno @ 7:24 pm

I hope this doesn’t come off the wrong way, but when I hear of marriages gone terrible or couples who are fighting incessantly, I feel so. very. thankful. I. am. single.

Today, a friend told me about how hellish her marriage has been. We talked for a while and I sympathized and offered to help with her kids or driving arrangements or dinners. Whatever she needed. But in the back of my mind, I kept thinking, “Glad I don’t have to deal with that.”

Then later today, my sister told me about one of her friends who is going through a seriously shitty divorce after her husband left her (after being together for 15 years). She has three kids. He’s balking on paying any real child support. They hate each other. I am appalled by his actions and feel–really, so much–for this woman and her children. I’d like to reach out and help them in some way as well. But, still, in the back of my mind, I kept thinking, “I am so happy to be single.”

While being single is not always that great and I often think of how much easier my life would be with a partner, I don’t have anyone to fight with, blame, hold expectations to, share with, or even listen to when I’m tired. I’m not in the middle of a terrible life time.

This doesn’t mean, of course, that one day I won’t be in a relationship and be feuding and have to share and have the possibility that someone will walk out on me after 15 years. But for now, when I feel jealous or get depressed because I am all alone, it’s a nice reminder that being single isn’t so bad sometimes.

I hope this doesn’t make me a terrible person, but after the stories I heard today, I am really thankful for being single.

 

2 Responses to “blessed be the single ones (sometimes)”

  1. Jen Says:

    As a married woman … You ARE so lucky to be single ! Haha!!! Seriously.

  2. Denise Says:

    So much better to be single than be in a bad marriage….and all marriages can be bad at times!!!


Leave a Reply

