A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

a few of my favorite things… February 21, 2011

Filed under: family fun — courtsbrogno @ 8:39 pm

In pure Julie Andrews-style, here are a few of my favorite things for today:

**President’s day. Which is awesome because it means a day off of work. I don’t really feel the need to celebrate any past presidents, though I guess I could have spent the day celebrating democracy, but let’s be honest, I was just happy to have a long weekend (Does this make me shallow? Maybe, but I don’t even care.)

 

**Sleeping until 8:30 this morning with Luke. Even though the sun was shining outside, we still slept so late. It was heaven.

 

**Maddie picking out our hike and actually being excited about it. She wanted to hike to the local mountain’s “M,” because supposedly it stands for her school, and I’ve never gone on that particular trail so up we went, Maddie leading.

And Maddie was so excited when she made it to the “M.”

**As we hiked back down and looked at my beautiful town, I became so overwhelmed with happiness that I live where I live.

**Also on the way back down, Luke wanted to get off my back and run around, which I thought would be a fine idea, but I let him run wild downhill, and while he was having the best time–laughing hysterically the entire time–he tripped, flew a few feet, and landed hard on his stomach and hand, and then his head bounced off the dirt. Poor guy was so upset he insisted on being carried, and then held closely in his ergo but he refused to go on my back, so I had to carry him in front, which I haven’t done in years, and though I’m certainly not happy he feel and got hurt, holding him close like that, comforting him with my mama powers, made me pretty damn happy.

 

**Maddie having tow friends spend the night (since she also doesn’t have school tomorrow–LUCKY!). While listening to three girls chatter about–I swear!–Taylor Lautner, Katy Perry, Taylor Swift, and the Twilight series is NOT my idea of a fun night, I’m happy that Maddie’s happy. Simple as that.

**Finishing grading a huge stack of midterms! Even though I still have more to do (always), it’s nice to have something finished for the night.

I’m pretty thankful I had such a good day. It was such a good day, that I’ve been humming “These are a few of my favorite things” all day, and on our hike, I even did a little Sound of Music dance (you know, the one where Julie Andrews dances over the hills)!

 

Leave a Reply

