A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

it’s the little things February 24, 2011

Filed under: kindness toward me — courtsbrogno @ 7:59 pm

Today I left the house in a rush. I was late taking Luke to school and I knew I would be pushing getting to the community college on time. To add to that stress, I hadn’t had coffee yet, so I had to stop (or else a serious headache attacks my very being).

I ran into the coffee shop, and was so disappointed to be behind 2 other groups of people. The person at the counter was not only ordering a coffee, but also having a long conversation with the barista. The couple ahead of me where in deep conversation about what they should order, what their baby would like, and whether they should take everything to go.

I started to sweat and say, “shit, shit, shit,” in my head. I thought about leaving and just dealing with the headache when the couple ahead of me said, “Why don’t you go ahead of us. We could take a while.”

I promise I wasn’t acting outwardly annoyed and didn’t even tap my foot in impatience. I gushed, “thank you,” to the couple and explained that I only needed a coffee. Within 2 minutes, I had my coffee and was getting back into my car.

Really, it’s such a small thing, but I’m really thankful this couple allowed me to skip in front of them. It was such a kind gesture, especially since they didn’t know I was already running late and didn’t have to give up their position in the line. I do the same thing in the grocery store when someone behind me only has a couple of items and I have a whole shopping cart full, but in a grocery store, that’s expected. It’s almost grocery store etiquette. But in a coffee shop? Well, I’ve never had that happen before.

I’m sure this couple hasn’t even thought twice about this even, similar to how little I think about letting someone cut in front of me at the grocery store, but sometimes it’s these little moments that resonate so big in our lives. And this small gesture was big to me, in more ways than me just getting to work on time.

 

Leave a Reply

