A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

almost snow February 26, 2011

Filed under: family fun — courtsbrogno @ 7:55 pm

It was forecasted to snow early this morning. Due to a cold pressure front moving  through our area and rain, the whole town was a flurry with thoughts of actual snow landing on our front porches.

We waited through the night and woke up expectantly to….nothing. Nothing but blue skies and sun. Sure it was really cold outside, but not even the roads were wet.

But then, later in the day, I was in my kitchen with my friend Tasha, talking, when she asked, “Does it look like it’s going to rain?”

I looked out the window and said, “maybe.” A minute later, it did start to rain and then the rain turned to hail. Hail isn’t snow, but it is white and incredibly beautiful. As Tasha and I continued out conversation, my gaze kept returning to the window to watch the hail come down. Though this doesn’t make much sense, It was exciting and calming at the same time.

Maddie was at my sister’s house with my Aunt Linda and they got more hail then my house did. And they treated it like it was the greatest event this year, playing and rolling in the hail:

Even though it didn’t snow and we were all a little disappointed, the hail made us just as happy and I’m thankful for that.

I’m also thankful that I got to see and spend time with Tasha and my Aunt Linda this weekend. The hail just made their trip an added bonus to a good weekend.

 

 

One Response to “almost snow”

  1. tasha Says:

    I love the little snow balls.


Leave a Reply

