A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

dreaming of that house March 6, 2011

Filed under: family fun — courtsbrogno @ 8:35 pm

My parents are still in town, and this afternoon, when the rain had stopped for a short while, my Dad, Luke, and I went out for a walk around my neighborhood.

It was a slow walk; Luke has to stop and examine what he finds interesting. Which is practically everything.

But walking slowly and stopping often gave me a chance to look at some of the beautiful, stately houses in my neighborhood. I noticed a few had recently been painted, one house’s front yard had been landscaped, which made the entire house visable from the street (never before had I seen the front porch), and finally, at the corner, was a house I’ve loved since I moved to this neighborhood 6 years ago. And it was for sale.

I want to live in this house so badly. My dad and I stood, looking at it, for quite a while. We mused about how many rooms there were, how big the backyard was, how much traffic passes by on the weekdays. There’s a small guest house (really small, almost like a kid’s play house) in the back, and I joked that if he helped me buy the house, he could live in the guest house.

When we returned home we checked the price: $1, 325,000.*

I don’t think so. Even if I had the money, I wouldn’t buy it. But we had a nice walk and an even nicer time day-dreaming about the house, and for that, I’m thankful.

 

 

*This is actually much less expensive than my absolute favorite house in town, also on the market right now, but for $1, 995,000.

 

 

One Response to “dreaming of that house”

  1. Jen Says:

    I would have thought it would have been more!
    Love that house!


Leave a Reply

