A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

lent March 9, 2011

Filed under: family fun — courtsbrogno @ 6:44 pm

Today is Ash Wednesday, and so, as a family, we’re about to embark on our 40 day journey in which we either give up something we love OR do something/give back.

Here’s the low down of what we’re doing:

Maddie: after much thought and discourse with me about what she doesn’t want to give up (candy, computers, games, complaining, etc), Maddie finally came to the conclusion that for the next 40 days, she will do one nice thing for someone each day. Every night at dinner she’ll report what she did. I like this idea. I think she’s made a good decision.

Luke: after a long conversation with Luke about Lent and what it is, he looked at me with a blank stare. He doesn’t understand. At all. But I didn’t think he would. So he’s not giving up anything. That’s okay, though. I’m sure Jesus loves him just the same.

Me: after much thought about this, I still have absolutely no idea what to either give up or do. Should it really be this difficult? Sweets? Not this year. Facebook? Not ready to disconnect myself, especially since I really don’t use it very often and mostly use it to send out messages (and usually, pretty important ones). Meat? Come on! I can easily slip into anemia, and I don’t eat it that much anyway. Stop gossiping? I try my hardest to not gossip at all anyway (though, of course, I’m not perfect). Sex? Hahahaha…that was given up a long time ago anyway. Drinking? I don’t do it enough for it to really matter.

I don’t know what to do yet, so I’m going to leave it open for now. I seriously am not perfect in any way, shape, or form, but I don’t feel inspired to make a decision yet and I don’t think it would be wise to honor this time with something picked just to be picked. You know? I don’t want to be disingenuous.  Ahhhh…I’m Catholic, so I already feel guilty.

I am, however, thankful to be upon this time yet again. Even if you’re not Catholic or religious, I think it’s a great opportunity to give up something for a little over a month or to give back in someway.

But if you have any ideas of what I should do, I am open to suggestions!

 

2 Responses to “lent”

  1. Jen Says:

    Braden suggested that you try not to yell.
    Cate suggested: strawberries and carrots (haha)

  2. GEW Says:

    I think you should give up guilt. Seriously. Or, if not, guilt, then some other emotion or thought pattern that’s not helpful to. A LONG time ago, I gave up something like that. I was attending the Unity Church in SLO, and that’s the kind of stuff we talked about give up: guilt, self-criticism, unrealistic demands on self, etc. It’s harder than it seems. I don’t think I was successful.

    One time, I think I heard someone say to give up something that you worship so that your worship can be more focused on God. So I gave up buying books. Not reading them, but buying them. Which for me, was a big deal. It didn’t help my pocket book, however, because I just ending up spending the money on clothes instead (which is something I rarely spend money on). The whole project made me happy that, typically, I spend more money (and worship) on books than on clothes.

    This year I should probably give up ignoring my dissertation.


Leave a Reply

