A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

Thankful Tuesdays begin and oh how I love San Francisco March 29, 2011

Filed under: adult fun,friends,travel — courtsbrogno @ 5:47 pm

The week went by rather quickly, and there is much to be thankful for.

Like finally finishing grading and ending a long and arduous quarter by submitting grades after spending much of the week grading like a mad woman, which is both exhausting and exhilarating:

Then for a very brief reprieve, I packed the kids into the car and off we went for a weekend in San Francisco to visit my mom and dad, attend my best friend Michelle’s baby shower, and spend some time with some great friends.

Oh, how I do love you San Francisco.

Is there any bridge more beautiful than the Golden Gate?

Of course, with my terrible sense of direction, I spent a very frustrating amount of time driving around lost in this city, but then I came to realize, getting lost near Golden Gate Park is not such a bad way to spend my time lost and driving around the city:

And spending some time on Tasha’s roof so we could take in the views of the city? Practically heaven:

 

 

 

 

Or being in the Sunset district and looking down a street, admiring a row of uniquely styled houses, which is always a reminder of why the diversity of the city–even in just the houses and districts–makes San Francisco a place that other cities should be jealous of:

And just because I happened to be lost and somehow ended up at City Lights Bookstore, I’m putting in one of my favorite poems by its founder (note: the actual spacing of the poem is not transferring correctly):

Constantly Risking Absurdity (#15)

by Lawrence Ferlinghetti

Constantly risking absurdity
and death
whenever he performs
above the heads
of his audience
the poet like an acrobat
climbs on rime
to a high wire of his own making
and balancing on eyebeams
above a sea of faces
paces his way
to the other side of day
performing entrechats
and sleight-of-foot tricks
and other high theatrics
and all without mistaking
any thing
for what it may not be

 

For he’s the super realist
who must perforce perceive
taut truth
before the taking of each stance or step
in his supposed advance
toward that still higher perch
where Beauty stands and waits
with gravity
to start her death-defying leap

 

And he
a little charleychaplin man
who may or may not catch
her fair eternal form
spreadeagled in the empty air
of existence

 

 

I attended Michelle’s baby shower while I was up in San Francisco as well, seeing most of my same best friends I saw at my birthday. Which was great. It’s so rare we get together that often. Plus, celebrating Michelle’s new baby coming (due May 11th!) made my visit seem even more special:

(Another girl for Michelle and Cain!)

 

(lots of presents for this new baby girl)

 

(Michelle, proud mama to be, relishing in the attention she deserves)

 

(Michelle was delighted to have many family members fly up to SF to help celebrate. I was delighted to see her family!)

 

And then it was off for a night on the town with Tasha, some old friends, a few new friends, and I even got the chance to see my old neighbor, who I miss living next to (he didn’t call the city and complain about my chickens!). We had so much fun; oh yes, we did!

(That’s Tasha and my old neighbor Brady. They are not kissing. Just hugging.)

The night was a love fest and it was one that I will always remember. Good times and good memories: I can’t ask for much more.

Sadly, I had to leave Sunday as it was time to drive home and  prepare myself for a new quarter with classes starting Monday. Though I was up way later than I had anticipated, I’m thankful I successfully finished all my prepping for the new quarter. Giving up some sleep was well worth waking up without stress.

And then it was back into the classroom, and the first day, why always exhausting, is also invigorating. I think of all the possibilities that can come from both me as an instructor and my students as well. All the possibilities that await exploration. That’s what makes all the grading and exhaustion worth it. Very worth it.

It was a good week. A busy week. A short vacation with a lot of love spread around.

I’m so lucky in life. That I know to be true.

 

 

Leave a Reply

