A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

detox June 21, 2011

Filed under: family fun,friends,kids,work — courtsbrogno @ 9:46 pm

It’s been exactly one week since I finished work, and while I look forward to this day from the beginning of Fall quarter, by the time the real deal rolls around, days of no work, I actually become a little manic.

I wake every morning and literally have nothing that needs to be done. Sure, I have a summer to-do list that includes cleaning out closets and stuff, but basically that can be put aside if I want. I have no essays to read, no emails to answer, no meetings, no where that I must be,

The sudden stillness of my life is at first very irksome.

The day spans ahead of me and time ticks by more slowly than I ever thought possible. I find myself counting down the hours until lunch, then dinner, then bedtime. My children look at me expectantly and I think to myself, “what the hell do stay-at-home moms do all day?” We go to the park, visit friends, take adventures, and then the day is only half over.

By the time Fall quarter comes, I’m completely used to this lifestyle and can’t imagine how I will ever go back to work. But for now, it’s like I’m in detox. I shake a little; I don’t know what to do with myself; I feel all out of sorts.

It’ll take a good two more weeks before I settle into the routine of being a “mother-of-leisure” (as my friend Andy calls me), but until then, we’ve managed to have some great moments this week: moments that I’m thankful for.

:::::

What to do with two kids and hours of sunlight left? Beach days! And lots of them. The kids run free and I read in the sun: it’s a win-win for all parties.

(I love this look: Luke’s roaring like a tiger.)

:::::

I’ve been spending my days getting crafty. With so much free time and so many people to thank for all the help provided to me and my babies throughout the school year, I’ve got some serious gifting to do. The first up? Luke’s preschool teacher who’s leaving for L.A. We’ll miss her TONS, but know she’s going to be super happy. I made a bag for her in less than a day. It felt great to put needle and thread together. I’ve missed this.

:::::

When you finish a grading marathon at the end of the quarter, you should celebrate. So me and some fellow colleagues got together, drank wine, ate chocolate, and enjoyed not feeling guilty for drinking instead of working because, once again, WE HAVE NO WORK.

:::::

If I get to have a small get together then so should the kids. Which is what we’ve been doing a lot here this week: having friends over to play, watching movies, eating home cooked dinners, and relaxing.

:::::

With the nights staying light until almost 9p.m., it feels good to walk downtown for just an hour or so to check out some live music. This week, my friend Reese was playing at a local coffee shop and I went down to see her play.

I’ve known Reese since I was in grad school, and I just love her. She’s hilarious, kind, thoughtful, and such a good singer:

(This video is terrible quality, but you can hear how good Reese’s voice is)

:::::

I’ve finally had time to catch up on all the news that I’ve missed in the past week, and to read about New York possibly passing a same-sex marriage bill makes my heart swell with happiness. But what makes me even happier is Republican New York Senator Roy McDonald’s comment:

“You get to the point where you evolve in your life where everything isn’t black and white, good and bad, and you try to do the right thing. You might not like that. You might be very cynical about that. Well, fuck it, I don’t care what you think. I’m trying to do the right thing. I’m tired of Republican-Democrat politics. They can take the job and shove it. I come from a blue-collar background. I’m trying to do the right thing, and that’s where I’m going with this.”

Finally, a Republican I can get behind. I LOVE THIS!!!!!

:::::

I think I may finally be winning my fight against poison oak. I’m not even going to upload a picture of how bad it got. It’s that disgusting. Let me tell you, poison oak is no joke. I have never, ever, ever–in my entire life–been so uncomfortable and itchy and my God, this shit is just plain all-consuming.

So I went to the doctor, got a shot of cortisone in my ass, got on a regiment of steroids, started scrubbing with Zanfel (the absolute best poison oak medicine in the world. the only thing that has stopped the itching. Of course, it’s $50 for 1 ounce, and I’ve gone through three tubes, but I don’t even care. The relief is worth every penny.)

My legs look terrible, but I’m hoping by next week all will be back to normal.

:::::

Finally, because I really can’t not do anything all summer long, I’ve paired up with a fellow instructor to study incorporating wiki pages in the classroom. Neal, my colleague, was the one who instructed me on wiki page usage in Winter quarter. In Spring, I started using them myself and loved the results. Now we’re planning a study, meeting, and we’re even going to blog about our adventure (which will actually work as a sort of virtual meeting place instead of trying to meet all summer long). The study will–hopefully, if everything works out well–last all next year and even have the potential for long-term usage, but for now, for this summer, we will just plan and get everything in order.

I’m super excited about this.

:::::

So I’m working a little, but not too much. I’m relaxing a bit and getting more used to long summer days ahead of me.

Within a few weeks, I will be in full “mother-of leisure” mode and will have made significant progress in getting the work, work, work drug out of my system.

Detoxing can be such a bitch sometimes.

 

3 Responses to “detox”

  1. Denise Says:

    In between being happy for you, I am soooooooo freakin jealous!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Why oh why did I not become a teacher! Enjoy.

  2. Katy Says:

    God bless summer. YOU, as an adult, actually still get a summer! Relish in it good friend and soak up some vitamin D for those of us locked in windowless buildings for 8-12 hours a day 🙂 Love you

  3. reesegalido Says:

    thank you for your kind words and for capturing my shenanigans on film 🙂 for the record, i think you’re awesome sauce.


Leave a Reply

