A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

peace within December 14, 2012

Filed under: self-discovery — courtsbrogno @ 6:47 pm

I had a very funny blog post all ready to write, but then in the wake of what happened in Connecticut, it didn’t seem appropriate to post anything funny. Maybe in a few days.

Today, amidst all my tears and sorrow for what happened, I was at the mission in our town watching the bells rung at noon. My friend, Neal, invited us to go as he’s the person who rings the Friday noon bells.

What a perfect day for us to partake in this ceremony, for as the bells were ringing, I stopped for a moment and uttered one simple prayer to God:

peace.

bells

But then I also realized that if we want peace in the world, and less violence, whether in Syria or at home, we should start practicing it in our own lives. Something I try to do and fail at constantly.

But I’m done. I’m done being angry and vengeful. I’m done showing my kids how NOT to behave. So, here’s my early New Year’s resolution: more peace within my own life. More love and understanding and caring. Less gossip, negativity, anger, loss, and empty promises.

For we are all united and we have much to cherish. And we need to do a better job individually if we are ever to have anything resembling peace.

This video should inspire us all to realize the power of our words, the power of our hearts. And that power should be positive.

 

2 Responses to “peace within”

  1. Katy Meter Says:

    So beautiful, thank you.

  2. Neal Says:

    I’m so glad that you and Luke and Katy could come — it made me happy. Trying and failing is fine if it is followed by trying again.


Leave a Reply

