A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

another interlude: i’m a cool mom!!! September 14, 2013

Filed under: family fun — courtsbrogno @ 10:03 am

So, yup, still working on catching up on summer. But this just happened:

Maddie told me I was a cool mom!

Unbelievable. This is how it went down.

Maddie and I were just driving in the car when she says (and I’m going to tell this story verbatim), “Oh Mom I have a story for you. You know how you always drag me to those concerts and then tell me one day I’ll appreciate it and be happy? Well, the other day in Spanish, there’s this junior who sits next to me. He’s all surfer-ed out. He wakes up at 4 in the morning to go surfing everyday and then flirts with the girl who sits in front of me . Anyway, the other day, he asked the girl, ‘Have you ever seen Modest Mouse in concert?’ and she was like, ‘I don’t even know who that is.’ So I jumped into the convo and said, ‘I’ve seen Modest Mouse.’ and he was like, ‘What?’ and i was like, ‘Yeah, my mom took me,’ and he was all, ‘That’s so cool. Your mom is so cool. My mom doesn’t even know who Modest Mouse is.’ Then there was like a pause and then he said, ‘I really want to see Wilco too,’ and I was like, ‘I’ve seen Wilco like 3 times.’ and he was like, “NO WAY! Your so cool. Your mom is the coolest.”

That’s right. Maddie’s cool, but who’s even cooler–ME!

I win. Finally, I’m a cool mom.

Though I’m not so sure how I feel about this junior surfer kid now thinking Maddie’s hot shit. My plan might have just backfired.

 

 

 

 

One Response to “another interlude: i’m a cool mom!!!”

  1. Cat Says:

    At the minimum, the surfer dude is well-balanced.


Leave a Reply

