A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

tidbits July 21, 2014

Filed under: family fun — courtsbrogno @ 11:00 am

So it’s the middle of summer, and I figure it’s time to catch up on the things that happened from January-June. This is purely self-serving as I write these type of blog posts so I can remember what my life was like when I get old and forget my own name. I anticipate that one day I’ll turn this blog into a printed book for myself; thus I can gaze back on my entries and think I was much cooler than I actually am.

It’s going to be a boring post. You should probably stop reading now.

Tidbits:

My sister had a new baby, Ben. He is so freaking adorable that for a few days I seriously considered having another baby (with who? I have no idea. If only David Sedaris or Ira Glass would have me!). But then I woke the fuck up and realized that I’m on the precipice of having my life back. Maddie will be in college in 3 years, Luke is with me 50% of the time already, and I will be able to do all sorts of things…maybe I can travel or stay in bed all day or travel…yeah, what I really want to do is travel. And without a baby. But Ben is adorable, so I’ll take pleasure in just holding him from time to time.

 

IMG_2799

 

IMG_2793

IMG_2798

 

Easter came and we went to my parent’s house for dinner and an Easter egg hunt with my sister and her family. I think Easter is my least favorite holiday, but the kids seem to like it, even though I refuse to buy them candy or baskets. I’m such a mean mom. It’s a good thing my Aunt Judy send baskets for the kids or they’d really hate me.

IMG_2821

IMG_2827

IMG_2816

 

I went to the STRFKR show, which was amazing. One of the best shows I’ve seen in a long time.

IMG_2770

 

IMG_2772

 

Saw Matt Pond play in Los Angeles:

IMG_2969

 

Decided on the type of house I’d like to eventually live in and the road that will get me there. I’m realizing these dreams of mine seem to include places where no one can bother me:

 

IMG_2842

 

IMG_2849

 

Celebrated Mother’s Day with these two devious kids:

 

IMG_2925

 

Went to Luke’s school for family craft day:

 

IMG_2946

 

IMG_2938

 

Drove Maddie and her friends down to Disneyland:

IMG_2990

 

And then sat in loads of traffic. When Maddie tries to pull some horrible-mom shit on me, I’ll remember to point out this trip:

IMG_3004

 

Started Luke in swim lessons. At first he hated it. Five minutes later, he loved it:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_3007

 

IMG_3098

 

Took the kids on some hikes:

IMG_3038

IMG_3040

IMG_3046

 

Luke made it up Cerro San Luis all by himself for the first time, which is a huge deal!

photo

 

Let Maddie go with some friends to a concert at a local venue with her friends. As in: without me. I was a bit sad, but then she told me how she made her way to the front of the crowd, and I glowed with pride. I have taught her well:

IMG_2988

My dear friend Steve got married to the most lovely lady ever! Maddie came as my date and we are so happy for him.

IMG_2971

IMG_2972

Saw my wonderful colleague and friend Lisa read her poetry while being accompanied by a polished banjo player:

IMG_2979

 

And finally discovered my true passion in life:

IMG_3013

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

