A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

my summer by numbers August 23, 2014

Filed under: family fun — courtsbrogno @ 9:00 am

100,000

My beautiful car hit the 100K marker this summer:

IMG_3410

photo

I love this car. I bought it in 2006. It’s taken numerous trips from the bottom of California to the top. It took Luke home from the hospital safely. It’s been littered with trash from the kids (and me), covered with stickers, towed in San Francisco, and other than some transmission work and regular care, has never broke down or given me problems. I used to say that when I had enough money I’d upgrade to a Volvo. I no longer think that. I’ll probably be a Subaru owner for ever.

6,017

This is the number of miles from Barcelona, Spain to San Luis Obispo, California, which is about the amount of miles our 16 year-old Spanish exchange student, Berta, traveled to stay with us this summer. Maddie begged to have a foreign exchange student stay with us for 3 weeks during the summer. I was hesitant at first, but Kirby convinced me it would be a good experience for Maddie, so I agreed. Plus, 3 weeks isn’t too much of a commitment. then I found out there would be a home inspection and interview, which I assumed we would fail given our “different” living situation. But we passed! I guess the Spanish (or at least Berta’s parents) think our living situation is quite normal. In fact, when Berta arrived and I was in the midst of arguing with Luke’s dad (see last entry), Berta was pretty astounded. She told me that her 12 year old brother still sleeps with her grandmother, that Spain has an “open-door” attitude to living with family and friends, and that being a single-parent is no big deal. “Why would anyone even ask,” she wondered.

I think I’ve gotta move to Spain.

Berta was a wonderful addition to our family. She was kind, spoke perfect English, and really enjoyed spending time here. Maddie and Luke had a great time with her as well.

IMG_3388

IMG_3390

IMG_3356

IMG_3146

(I think Berta loved shopping the most. That’s Maddie, Berta, and one of Maddie’s friends at Urban Outfitters. Luke is in the middle with the unicorn hat on. Oh Luke….)

IMG_3149

(Maddie, her friends, and Berta enjoying Farmers’ Market)

801

The amount of miles we traveled for our summer vacation.

IMG_3239

(Good-bye town!)

We stopped to see the elephant seals first.

IMG_3236

Then we drove to Big Sir to camp.

IMG_3244

IMG_3243

(Thank God the river still had water. It was still low, though)

IMG_3249

(The back of our campground. We lucked out with a great campsite, but we were attacked by ticks. Thank God the camp store had bug spray)

IMG_3251

(A beautiful morning)

IMG_3250

(Of course, Luke was the first up, so I built a fire and we discussed life according to Luke)

We departed Big Sur and stopped at a beautiful beach close to Carmel.

IMG_3257

IMG_3259

From there, we headed to the Santa Cruz mountains to camp at Big Basin. I’ve never been there before, but it was amazing. Surrounded by the redwoods, bathed in heat: this might be my new place to camp.

IMG_3294

We took quite a few hikes:

IMG_3266

IMG_3267

IMG_3269IMG_3271

(Sadly, there was barely any water in the creek)

IMG_3274

IMG_3277

IMG_3290

IMG_3292

(relaxing)

IMG_3272

(helps with relaxing)

IMG_3286

After a fun night, we packed up camp, and went over the Golden Gate Bridge.

IMG_3304

And to Healdsburg, where we met with my sister and her family, my Aunt Debbie and her husband, and my Uncle Michael for our annual holiday to watch my uncle compete in the Vineman Ironman. Thankfully, this year, he didn’t compete in the full ironman, but instead just did the AquaBike–the half marathon and half swim.

The house we all stayed in was right on the river and just beautiful. I loved being able to walk right down to the river with the kids and catch a deer crossing the property.

IMG_3336

IMG_3335

IMG_3324

IMG_3332

IMG_3326

IMG_0967 IMG_0957 IMG_0940 IMG_0935 photo

We watched my uncle’s race.

IMG_3311

IMG_3316

IMG_3314IMG_3319

(I must say, all the hard work my uncle does really takes a toll on me as well. Hehe)

We had time to go to the Korbel estate:

IMG_3327

IMG_3330

And overall, just had a fantastic family vacation:

IMG_1068

But we weren’t finished yet. We left Healdsburg and headed to Monterey, where I rented a hotel for the night.

We went to the Monterey Bay Aquarium:

IMG_3351

IMG_3354

IMG_3353

And then I forced the kids to go to the Steinbeck Museum with me:

IMG_3366

IMG_3386

IMG_3373

IMG_3372

IMG_3375

IMG_3376

And then we finally made it home. Overall, it was the best family trip we’ve had in years.

200

The dollars I spent taking the kids to the fair for one day. Ridiculous. But the kids had fun, and I found out that Luke LOVES roller coasters and isn’t scared of them a all.

IMG_3205

IMG_3207

IMG_3211

IMG_3227

IMG_3228

IMG_3222

(Luke also happened to be a whiz at throwing darts at balloons. He won something at every stand we went to. Which was 4. Now we have 4 more stuffed animals to clutter our house.

IMG_3202

(I saw a barn owl at the fair, which made it all worthwhile to me.)

0

Pretty much the amount of writing I did for myself. Did I write the few articles I told myself I would? Nope. Did I work on my novel at all? Nope. Did I write any blog posts? Just a few.

I had been feeling disappointed in myself for not taking advantage of the only free time I get during the year to work on my interests, but then I realized that this summer was really devoted to my family, and I feel alright about that. With Maddie and Luke starting school on Monday, I’m glad they had a great summer. Maddie even told me the other day, “Mom, this was the best summer I’ve ever had.”

That feels so much better than finishing an article.

 

One Response to “my summer by numbers”

  1. GEW Says:

    Your vacation sounds fabulous! And it’s fantastic that you had Berta, and I think she was very lucky to have YOU and your family. What a wonderful experience you gave to her and your kids (and I’m sure you felt the same way about what she offered to you).


Leave a Reply

