A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

falalalalala December 3, 2014

Filed under: family fun — courtsbrogno @ 7:07 am

Today was the day I’ve been waiting for, well, ummmm, about 364 or so days–the day we get our Christmas tree and decorate our house.

Because  I LOVE CHRISTMAS.

So I picked Luke up and we went to get a tree. We found a perfect one immediately and then just had to wait for it to be wrapped.

luke

(Waiting for our turn patiently in the rain)

And I have to say that I feel pretty bad ass. I loaded the tree onto a cart. Put the tree in my car. McGyvered my trunk closed with twine because the tree didn’t fit into the car. Drove home. Put on the stand. Pulled this damn 8 foot tree into my house. And then stood it up and put on the lights all by myself. I felt like running out into the street and yelling, “I am woman. Hear me roar!”

Then the kids decorated the tree. I did not put  up one ornament, and yes, they’re all a little misplaced, but it’s the kids who did it and to me, it’s perfect.

tree

 

both

I hung stockings, put out decorations, hung wreaths, and now our house just feels magical.

mantle

 

We listened to Christmas music, ordered pizza, and then sat on the couch taking it all in.

I love this season for some many reasons, but manly because I watch my ids get so excited (even Maddie!) and that brings out the inner, hopeful child in me.

I’m so thankful for this day, our time together, and the begining of the best time of the year.

 

Leave a Reply

