A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

writing parties December 4, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 9:25 am

So, yup…I’m a day late, but yesterday, I was thankful for writing parties.

Let me explain. A few years ago, a student of mine suggested that I hold writing parties for my students. Her rational was that students just need time and a place to write where they’re not distracted by friends, texts, social media, etc.

So I thought about it. I broached the subject with Maddie and Kirby and they both laughed and called them “total geek parties that no student would ever go to.”

But I decided to give it a try. I told my students that I would hold a writing party at my house, from 6-8p.m. (and I live really close to campus so it’s no big deal for them to get to my house), and they could stop by to write, get help from me, or whatever.

Guess what?

It worked. For the past year and a half, students have been coming to my house every time I throw a writing party (I usually throw 6 a quarter, 2 per essay, always 6-8 p.m.). And you know what, most of the time, they just need a quiet place to write.

Today (or ahem, yesterday actually) I threw my last writing party of the quarter and it was well attended. Mostly students wanted me to look over their work, but some still came just to write.

I’m thankful I throw these parties. Usually, by the time I get home from work, the thought of having to read more essays, answer more questions, or even have my house clean is the last ting I want to do. But, it all  pays of when I know I’ve helped a student or even offered a relaxing place to just write. .

 

Leave a Reply

