A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

last day wish December 5, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 2:39 pm

Today is the last day of teaching for me this quarter at the university (one more week left at the community college) and I AM SO THANKFUL.

Of course, I still have 94 essays to grade and finals, but I can do it on my own time and I don’t have to stand in front of a class.

YES!

Then as I was walking back from teaching, I stumbled upon a dandelion, just growing in the cracks.

dandy

I picked it and made a wish. I wished for Luke’s nickel to make its was through his stomach easily. I received some bad news yesterday from the pediatrician. Apparently, the radiologist when looking at the X-ray closer noticed a slight build up of fluid, which could indicate that the nickel has perforated Luke’s stomach lining. The pediatrician then called a pediatric gastroenterologist at Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles, who agreed it looked suspicious. But everyone decided that we wait until next Friday for another X-ray to see if the nickel has moved. if it hasn’t–well, that’s a HUGE problem and we’ll have to take Luke down to the LA Children’s hospital for surgery. Plus, it’ll cancel both mine and Luke’s dad’s travel plans (though really, this is just secondary).

In the meantime, we just wait and look for any signs of fever, vomiting, or abdominal pain, in which case we’ve been instructed to go immediately to the ER.

So, let’s just all hope my dandelion wish means as much to me now as it did when I was a kid. Because when I was a kid, it seemed like all my dandelion wishes came true.

 

Leave a Reply

