A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

2015 is going to be the best year ever…well, soon, soon it will be April 13, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 11:18 am

2015 came in with a bang. I celebrated with my dear friend, S., and many more friends.new year1

new year 2

And a few days after the new year, took a family hike up Madonna, all the way to the top, to play under the lights shaped as a Christmas Tree:

new year 3

i had great plans for the new year: write everyday on this blog to get my feelings out and to keep up with the few people who actually read this blog, and most importantly, to practice my writing for the summer when I WILL get down to finishing the revisions for one of my novels. I was also going to exercise more and be a kinder neighbor, daughter, friend, mother.

But none of that happened. None. Because of my terrible Winter quarter schedule.

Yes, when school started January 5th or so, I was in for 11 weeks of total hell. My schedule was terrible. I was teaching 5 classes (I at the community college and 4 at the university), which is the same as I always do, but I was basically teaching M-Th 8-8. Yes, I had a break from 5-7pm. but that gave me just enough time to get Luke, run home, feed my children, help Luke with homework, and then rush back to teach from 7-8p.m.

I’m not kidding when I say this schedule completely overwhelmed me. I felt like I was always at my office and always exhausted, and then because Luke broke his elbow (more about that in another post) and I took a week off of work to be home with him, I got so behind in my grading that I still to this day cannot believe I actually caught up.

So for about three months, 2015 wasn’t so great.

But it’s a new quarter and I’m feeling much more balanced, so I’ll be keeping up with my new year’s resolutions: writing more, exercising, catching up on thank you cards, spending more quality time with my kids, and trying to still give love and care to myself.

At least I’m going to try. Really try.

 

Leave a Reply

