A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

Day 2 and 3 January 3, 2017

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 6:49 pm

Pretty soon here, I’m going to have to come up with more creative titles, but my imagination and thus, my writing, are so so so rusty! I guess I’ll worry about that tomorrow.

Yesterday, Maddie and her boyfriend played LIFE with Luke. I’ve already played several times with Luke (and the game has been modernized and is so lame. When I was a kid, if you had a kid in LIFE, you had to pay a bunch of money because that is real life. Now, you just get a bunch of money. So unrealistic). But what made me super grateful is that I didn’t have to ask Maddie to play with her brother. She just did. This is a serious cause for celebration, as Maddie rarely wants to play with her brother.

life

 

And today, I’m incredibly grateful for medication. Luke was diagnosed with ADHD and ODD last year and it’s been tough. For so long, I was against putting Luke on any kind of medication. I didn’t want him to turn into one of those horror stories of being just a robot kid, but things were getting so bad at school that we had to do something. So our pediatrician started Luke on some mild meds at the beginning of the summer and immediately I could see an improvement. But this past week, we switched meds because our insurance didn’t cover the first medication. And wow! This new medication works even better than the first. Luke is so calm and focused but still completely himself. For the first time in his life, he is able to sit down and put together a lego set. While this may seem fairly superficial, it’s HUGE. Luke could never have sat down for a few hours and had the concentration to follow the directions and build. Now he does. And he’s so proud of himself. The one downfall is that he wants more and more lego sets and they are so expensive.

 

Leave a Reply

