A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

packers win and I might be losing my mind January 8, 2017

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 6:00 pm

Let’s start with the Packers–they won 38-13 against the Giants. Of course this makes me happy because it makes my dad happy:

packers2

He’s so happy, he exclaimed, “We’re going to Houston, baby.” Now I’m not one to count my chickens before they’re hatched, but I SWEAR if the Green Bay Packers make it to the superbowl this year, I will find a way to send my dad to the game. He deserves it. He asks for so little (except for us to be quiet during the game) that he deserves it more than any fan of any team I know.

Now onto the weird, I’m possibly losing my mind.

It all started last night around 5pm . Maddie left with her boyfriend for dinner and a basketball game with a curfew of midnight. Since I had been working all day on getting ready for school to start, I decided to look up yoga times for Sunday morning. Perfect, I thought! There was a 9:30 class scheduled. I set my phone alarm for 8:30 just in case I didn’t wake up (which is pretty lame since I’m an early riser). Then I got comfy in my bed and watched a movie.

I must have fallen asleep because I was awoken to my alarm going off. I jumped up, hit the end button, brushed my teeth and then I though, “You know, I should really just get to school and make the copies I need and print some things out. I know I should also do yoga, but I don’t want to deal with the madhouse of professors using the copy machine Sunday afternoon and Monday morning.” So I threw on some leggings and shoes and ran out the door.

To a dark, dark sky and a heavy rainstorm. I even texted my sister “isn’t it weird that it’s still  so dark out?” and she just texted me back a funny picture of her husband. Oh well, I thought. I drove to Starbucks, got my coffee, and then got to school.

not-daytime

(see how dark it is???)

I went to my office, printed out what I needed to (and even cleaned up a little). Then I walked to the copier room and made all my copies. By the time I got back to my car I was feeling accomplished.

I drove back home in the pitch black rain and was really starting to become concerned. Is this the apocalypse, I wondered? Is this what happens when Trump gets elected? Why the hell is it so dark?

But with no news on the radio I just went home and took a shower so I could start my day. When I got out of the shower I realized that it was 10:30 and Maddie wasn’t in her room. Furious, I texted her “Where the hell are you?” In a minute she texted back, “I’m at Carson’s watching a movie. I’ll be home before midnight.”

I was so confused, standing in my bedroom, dripping wet with my phone in my hand.

And then I looked at my phone and it said 11:15 PM!

This whole freaking time I thought it was Sunday morning and possibly the end of the world, all because I fell asleep during the movie I was watching and accidentally set my alarm for 8:30 PM. I felt like such a fool.

But then I thought, “Hell yes.Now I don’t have to go to school at all tomorrow.”

So I’m grateful for that.

 

One Response to “packers win and I might be losing my mind”

  1. GEW Says:

    That is hilarious. And it must have been very weird.


Leave a Reply

