A Year of Thanks

1 post a day for 365 days showing gratitude

Oh, the stress January 24, 2017

Filed under: Uncategorized — courtsbrogno @ 6:13 pm

Today I was being evaluated by a tenure-track professor that I don’t even know, so I got up early, went to my office, got a whole lot of work done, and lectured from 1-2, 2-4, and 4-5. My evaluation was scheduled for my 4-5 class.

But then right after my 2-4 class I checked my phone to see that Maddie had called me three times and texted me that she was in a car accident.

I ran out of the room and called immediately. She was a mess, crying and trying to tell me the whole story and I just felt terrible. It was her fault–she hit someone from behind. So I texted her our amazing insurance lady and told her I’d be home soon. Then I called my dad to go hang out with her because in 2 minutes I was about to be observed.

car

(Maddie’s poor car).

Oh how I wish I could have gone home to be there for her, but I couldn’t. So in about 2 minutes time, I calmed myself down, went into the classroom, and gave a lecture about the different kinds of arguments one can make, but in the back of my mind I was thinking of Maddie.

Luckily the evaluation seemed to go fine and Maddie is safe. And for that, I am forever grateful.

 

Leave a Reply

